10 Questions: Vegan Foodie with Susan Voisin…

Marla Rose
5 min readDec 23, 2019
Susan Voisin of FatFreeVegan.com

Susan Voisin is a true bright light of the vegan world: Creating delicious and accessible recipes on her popular website FatfreeVegan.com since the early days of blogging, and she hasn’t slowed down in all these years, developing new, gorgeous recipes for the public all the time. (Please dig into her impressive treasure trove of beautifully photographed recipes when you get the chance.) In addition to Susan’s devotion to the cause as an ethical vegan and a creator, I especially appreciate her no-nonsense approach to some of the “health” and body-shaming propaganda of many plant-based folks, reminding us that veganism is a social justice movement grounded in compassion and justice, not promises of weight loss and becoming bullet-proof. I am honored and delighted to feature Susan Voisin as this week’s Vegan Foodie.

1. How did you start down this path of creating delicious food? Was a love for food nurtured into you? Did you have any special relatives or mentors who helped to instill this passion?

My mother was definitely an influence. She cooked almost every meal for my family when I was growing up because eating out was a very rare luxury. When I got my own apartment, I was constantly on the phone to her to find out how to cook the dishes I grew up eating, and I was also teaching myself to cook with The Joy of Cooking and any other cookbook…

--

--