Eight Patron Saints for Vegans

Think Only Catholics Get Patron Saints? Think again.

Marla Rose
6 min readFeb 16, 2021

Got a vegan problem? There’s a saint (and a prayer) for that.

1. St. Prudence

The Patron Saint of Judgment

Credit: John Beske at VeganStreetMedia.com

St. Prudence is the one we call upon when we are feeling disapprovingly towards others in a way that we know is counterproductive to our message being well-received.

Sample prayer: “Oh, glorious St. Prudence, you have helped me to remember that I am still alive whenever I feel judgment because everything else has been numbed. At this moment, I am asking for your guidance and wisdom in releasing my hostility in a manner that is productive and helpful rather than alienating. I am asking for you to look over me, St. Prudence, and steer me to patience and equanimity at family and office meals, especially with the guy who keeps saying “Mmm…bacon.” Tonight, I will light a candle to you, St. Prudence, when I am blessedly alone, and I can safely let all my judgment pour freely. Until then, thank you for your grace and example.”

2. St. Faith

--

--