In Honor of World Egg Day

Or: Why eggs aren’t all they’re cracked up to be…

Marla Rose
6 min readOct 9, 2020
Credit: VeganStreet.com

Yesterday, an unsuspecting PR person sent me a cheery message, informing me that October 9 is World Egg Day, offering me recipes to share on my website. I think sometimes we are just put on a list of those who create food content and you would be shocked at the variety of animal torture people are trying to get this 25-year vegan to promote, something even just a quick glance at our URL should have prevented. In return, the PR person got a link to my story about the hidden cruelties of the egg industry and a couple of memes for good measure. Let’s hope for everyone’s sake I am no longer on her mailing list.

Credit: VeganStreet.com
Credit: VeganStreet.com
Credit: VeganStreet.com

Simply put, laying hens are some of the most brutalized and invisibilized animals on the planet, especially curious as there are more than 340 million birds in egg production at any moment…

--

--