Nine Good Communication Practices for Vegans on Social Media: Making Progress in 2020

Marla Rose
10 min readJan 9, 2020

Okay, before anyone gets in a snit, I’m not saying I have all the answers; I’m not saying I have any answers. I am merely saying I have some ideas on communication practices to leave behind or adopt in the new year with spreading the vegan message.

Social media is no longer a shiny new toy and hasn’t been for a while. It is here to stay and as a medium for communication, it can be utilized powerfully and persuasively, but it can also work against our goals just as potently if we’re not careful. While it can be tempting to share links and make posts without much forethought because it is so convenient, I think we all need to craft our messaging thoughtfully so we can be as effective as possible. In that spirit, I have put together nine practices to consider adopting or leaving behind in the new year so we can get the most bang for our buck for the animals.

• Do not share sloppy journalism or unverified clickbait, no matter how much you want to believe it.

Some vegan media outlets seem to have a policy of growing their number of followers at the expense of journalistic integrity. It is understandable that these outlets are seeking clicks, shares, comments and engagement to boost…

--

--