Twelve Vegan Ukrainian Recipes to Feed the Hungry Spirit

Potatoes, cabbage and carbs: where do I sign up?

Marla Rose
4 min readMar 10, 2022

I’ve thought about it for some time and I think my love language is food. Is this an option?

If you cook for me, if you meet me for a meal, if you enjoy what I cook, if we sit at a table together and share thoughts and nourishment together, that is the most surefire way to my heart. The stage was set early on for me as I had the world’s best grandmother (a title she may share with your grandmother/s) and we spent so many hours, though not nearly enough, at her kitchen table, playing cards, watching soap operas, talking, cooking and baking together. Though I have been vegan for nearly 30 years at this point, my muscle memory tells me that it still knows how to separate the yolk from the egg whites by carefully passing them back and forth in two neat little shell halves. Though I don’t eat the same things that I did growing up, the recipes my grandmother made remain deeply embedded and have imprinted on me a love for unpretentious, simple but delicious peasant food. I enjoy trying haute cuisine and molecular gastronomy but to me, nothing beats homey comfort food from around the globe.

For me, the first one was Ukrainian Jewish food and it will probably be what I will crave until the end.

--

--